Home Page / Reports / Competition Policy Review / Final Report / Consultation

Competition Policy Review

Final Report Consultation


Consultation on Final Harper Final Report

The Final Report of the Harper Competition Policy Review was released on 31 March 2015.

Small Business Minister, Bruce Billson MP, launched a consultation on the Final Report on the same day.


While indicating that the Government supports the broad direction of the Competition Policy Review's Final Report, the consultation sought feedback on the final recommendations 'and issues concerning small businesses, especially where there have been changes since the draft report', which will inform the Government's response to the report later this year.

Treasury received 140 submissions; all but eight of which are available on the Treasury website:

View submissions

Some organisations have also posted their submissions on their own sites:

Interested parties could make submissions until 26 May 2015

The following non-confidential submissions were received:

Ai Group
Alcohol Policy Coalition
Anglicare Australia
Arnold Bloch Leibler 
Aurizon, Asciano, ARTC
Australasian Association of Convenience Stores
Australia Post
Australian and International Pilots Association
Australian Automobile Association
Australian Bankers' Association
Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Australian Chicken Growers Council
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
Australian Copyright Council
Australian Council of Trade Unions
Australian Dairy Farmers
Australian Dental Association 
Australian Digital Alliance and Australian Libraries Copyright Committee
Australian Fleet Lessors Association
Australian Forest Products Association
Australian Logistics Council
Australian National Retailers Association
Australian Newsagents' Federation
Australian Publishers Association
Australian Screen Association
Australian Society of Authors
Australian Taxi Industry Association
Australian Trucking Association
Beaton-Wells, Caron and Fisse, Brent 
Board of Airline Representatives of Australia
Brisbane City Council
Brotherhood of St Laurence
BSA The Software Alliance
Buchan, Jenny
Business Council of Australia
Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals
Business SA
Cairns Regional Council
Cancer Council NSW
Community Council for Australia
Competitive Carriers' Coalition Inc
Consumer Action Law Centre
Copyright Agency
Cotton Australia
Customer Owned Banking Association
Drug Policy Modelling Program and National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre
Elliott, Professor Elizabeth
Energy Networks Association
Engineers Australia
Ferris, Dr Jason
Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education
Hirsch, Ted
Insurance Council of Australia
Jobs Australia
Large Format Retail Association
Law Council of Australia - Business Law Section - Competition and Consumer Committee
Law Council of Australia - Business Law Section - Intellectual Property Committee
Law Council of Australia - Business Law Section - SME Committee
Llew, Russell
Local Government Association of Queensland 
Master Builders of Australia
Master Grocers Australia
Medical Technology Association of Australia 
Microsoft, Facebook, Twitter and Yahoo!7
Moreton Bay Regional Council
Morrison, Christopher
National Automotive Leasing and Salary Packaging Association
National Billing Group
National Farmers' Federation
National Insurance Brokers Association of Australia
National Rural Health Alliance
NSW Small Business Commissioner
Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
Office of the Australian Small Business Commissioner
Optometry Australia
Origin Energy
Peters, Michael
Pharmacy Council of NSW
Pharmacy Guild of Australia
Planning Institute Australia
Plastics and Chemicals Industries Association
Potts Point and Kings Cross Heritage Conservation Society
Professional Contractors and Consultants Australia
Queensland Consumers' Association
Queensland Government
Queensland Law Society
Quo, Dr Shirley
Regional Banks (Bank of Queensland, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank, ME Bank and Suncorp Bank)
Retail Guild of Australia
Rio Tinto
Royal Australian College of Surgeons
Seddon, Dr Nick
Shipping Australia
Shopping Centre Council of Australia
Spier Consulting Legal
St Vincents Health
Standards Australia
Supply Chain and Logistics Association of Australia
Sydney Airport
Tasmanian Pharmacy Authority
Taxi Council Queensland
Taylor, Dr Martyn
The Co-op
Transport Reform Network
Victorian Caravan Parks Association
Victorian Small Business Commissioner
Virgin Australia
Water Services Association of Australia
Woodward, Luke and Rubenstein, Matt
Yeates, Sarah
Ziller, Dr Alison