Home Page / Reports / MMP Bill 2016

AustraliaCompetition and Consumer Amendment (Misuse of Market Power) Bill 2016

Senate Economics Committee

External linkView Committee page

View my separate Bill page

About this Review

The Competition and Consumer Amendment (Misuse of Market Power) Bill 2016 was introduced into the House of Representatives on 1 December 2016. It is intended to give effect to the substance of the Harper Committee recommendations on misuse of market power; in particular it will replace the existing purpose based test with one focussing more directly on conduct having the purpose, effect or likely effect of substantially lessening competition.

Although there have now been several reviews into this proposed change (the various Harper Review stages, a subsequent Treasury discussion paper and an exposure draft bill) the matter was referred to the Senate Economics Committe for further consultation and reporting. The report is due on 16 February 2017.



Submissions to the Review are due by 9 January 2017. They can be uploaded directly to the committee reivew page. Submissions are being posted as received.


The bill

View my separate Bill page for details of the bill and the explanatory memorandum. No further documentation is provided on the Committee page.